Are You Thirsty?

Jesus said, “whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst ; but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.”    John 4:14  NASB

Be still, and know that I am God  Psalm 46:10  NIV

 

There have been times that I have been thirsty.  When I was thirsty, I would drink whatever may have been given in hopes that it would help.   More times than not, it was a waste of calories and left me desiring more.  Nothing seemed to quench the thirst like a glass of water.  Jesus told the Samaratian woman at the well that if we drink the water that Jesus gives, we will never be thirsty again. 

Last night in my ladies study, we watched a preview video of what’s to come in the week ahead.   This week we will be digging into what it means to be still and know that God is God. 

Being still, has historically been a problem for me.  Sleeping, resting, or just being still has brought thoughts of laziness to mind.  For most of my life, I have spent time “doing” in order to prove that I’m not lazy.  Last night I had a vision that came to mind that showed a glass/pitcher at a water faucet.  What I shared with the ladies is that if we are the glass and our only source of a quenched thirst comes from Jesus, the only way that our glass will be filled is to be still.  Have you ever tried to fill a glass at a faucet while the glass was being moved or waved beneath the flow?  I can’t say that I’ve ever tried it.  Probably because I know: One, it would be a waste of water.  Two, that it would take much longer to fill up.  When I thought about that, I was told that God is trying to speak to us, trying to fill us and our glass (us) is moving. 

My prayer is, that in the days ahead you will be still and be filled.  Invite the Holy Spirit to fill you.  He will! 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Are You Thirsty?”

  1. Ang Says:

    Hi Teresa – I just found your blog & so glad to reconnect and … in some virtual way, at least … walk alongside you. I miss you & appreciate your friendship so much.


Leave a Reply

