Christmas… I wonder…

Over the last several years, I have been somewhat “scroogey” during this time of the year.  Why?  Mainly, because I find that it’s very stressful to buy gifts for those that don’t really need anything, searching high and low for that “perfect” gift and decorating that takes hours, just to pull it down a few weeks later.  Seems a little much for an average person.  I know, I know…  I’m crazy, but I’m being real.   It’s how I feel.  

Over 2000 yrs ago, a baby was born in a stable & laid in a manger.  What is a manger anyway?  Webster says it’s “a trough or an open box in a stable used for feeding livestock”.  Hard to imagine that the saviour of the world, the Messiah was born in conditions such as these.  It was simple, not complex.  It was all part of the plan foretold long before….  When he was born, there were three gifts brought by the wise men: gold, frankincense, and myrrh.  I wonder, were these wise men bringing gifts they already owned?  Did they barter, or buy from merchants?  The story really doesn’t say.  However, my personal opinion is that it may have been something they already had.  But, the point is, the gifts were simple.  They didn’t sacrafice themselves or their bank accounts. 

We spend lots of money and time to plan, buy, buy and buy for what reason?  Who’s birthday is it?  I wonder, does He really want us giving to someone else other than Him when it’s His day?  This hasn’t been a new concept for me to think about.  When I was a kid, my parents would give my sister gifts when it was my birthday and vice versa.  I know that they were just trying to keep each of us from being left out when it was the birthday of the other, I get that.  I don’t know how she felt about it, but I know for me, my gifts didn’t seem as special.  Why does someone other than the birthday child receive a gift?  Anyway, I know they meant well and for that, I love them. But I wonder, what does Jesus Christ think about when we’re busying around like little bees, spending money we may not have, in order to bring happiness to someone else?  I wonder what He thinks about those that are decorating and giving when they don’t even believe in Him and choose to call it a holiday?  In fact, when I try to think back to what gifts I’ve bought or received, very few come to mind.  Sad I know.  But it’s true.  I think the only people “gettin’ happy” are the retailers.

In the midst of all the emotions of this season of my life, I still have faith, joy, hope and love.  And as far as I know, none of those cost anything for me to have.  Now, granted Jesus paid a cost for me.  And for that, I’m eternally grateful! 

I hope that I haven’t given you a look at me and you go, wow she’s “scroogey”?  I’m really not.  But I hope that we can find true meaning of this season.  Without Christ, there wouldn’t be Christmas.   With Christ there’s hope.  Hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

I wish you well.  God Bless you and your family.  Merry Christmas!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Christmas… I wonder…”

  1. Pamela Says:

    I am scroogey…too many demands on an already busy schedule, people that whine when they don’t get their way….struggling tonight to remember just how badly I want to be a character in God’s story. Not about trying to make unhappy people happy but to focus on surrendering what I have to Him who gave it ALL!!!
    Thanks for sharing! Love ya!


Leave a Reply

