What’s Your True Color?

Fall- it’s by far my favorite time of the year. Cooler weather, leaves changing colors, preparing to spend time with family over good food, a break in chaos (sometimes ;)) just an all around time to be thankful for that which I’ve been blessed.

As I was driving to work this morning I’m was in awe of the color that we have here in Texas this year. It’s not normal for us. Without knowing all of the scientific reasons, I know that it has to do with cooler temps, less sunlight and lack of chlorophyll running freely through the veins of the tree. The color of these trees is always there, but it’s masked by chlorophyll. As that decreases, then the beauty of the tree is exposed for all to enjoy.

I was then reminded that we ourselves are sometimes like the tree. There are elements that we need in order to live too. As we live, we sometimes “fall” on times that we wouldn’t normally want to expose. Whether it’s a financial hardship, loss of job, family, missing the mark on life (sin), marriage struggles, whatever. We all have them. When we’re struggling, I believe it’s normal to try to hide it. We want others to think we’re ok. In other words, you’re working hard pouring chlorophyll into your roots to keep it all green.

I just finished a study, Breaking Free by Beth Moore. This study has confirmed the freedom I’ve had through the years as I have tried to be transparent with people. Nothing to hide, just real. I’ll tell you that in the beginning, it was hard. Wondering how I was going to be judged, talked about, etc. Then I realized, it really doesn’t matter what others think. I’m not living for them. But surprisingly enough, I realized too that people are longing to know that they’re not the only ones that are hurting because of something. I can honestly say there isn’t anything like being free in Christ. The beauty that has been exposed is from the inside. It has nothing to do with the shell of my flesh. That will someday go away.

I don’t know if the things of this world have you in bondage. Whether a past hurt, loss, finances, etc you can be free. In order to do so, you’ll have to stop pouring on/in the “chlorophyll” that’s covering your true beauty. Let your true color be revealed. You’ll be amazed at what’s under all of the green.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “What’s Your True Color?”

  1. Terri Says:

    Loved it, and its so true. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Pamela Says:

    LOVE IT!!! Beautiful my friend! We have just a couple more weeks in Breaking Free and those rusted chains are gone…and it feels good!!!
    Yes, ma’am, you are beautiful!!!


Leave a Reply

