Owner’s Manual

Owner’s Manuals – do you ever read them? They are enclosed in the packaging of nearly every product purchased. They give us instructions on how to assemble the unit or how to care for it. Mainly they’re printed to direct us on everyday use and purpose of the product.

Most of the products I’ve ever purchased I knew what the purpose of it was and how to operate. Take my appliances for instance, when we bought our home the manuals were laid on the kitchen counter and later found a space in the drawer. The only time I refer to them is if there is a problem. Otherwise, they’re safely tucked away. Electronics, I can sit with the product and work through each feature trying to see how I can get the most bang for my buck. If something I have will save me time and effort, I want to know how to make it work for me.

I can’t imagine the need for a manual unless the purpose of the product was conceptualized prior to manufacturing. I don’t think that a product is made and then the manufacturer looks at it and asks, “this is a fine widget, now what will we do with it?”

Think about yourself. Do you find yourself wondering if you were created for a purpose? Do you think that God created you and then asked “this is a fine creation, now what will I do with it?”. I don’t think so! Do you wonder sometimes how to get through a day, week or month? My personal belief is that there is an owner’s manual for our life. It’s the Bible. The most distributed book in the world. You may or may not own one.  If you do, are you using it in order to get the most bang for your buck out of your life? Or does it find itself safely tucked away in a drawer or on a shelf just in case of emergencies?

Emergencies come when we’re most vulnerable, unprepared and when we least expect them. If you know what the manual says, then those emergencies aren’t emergencies at all. I want to encourage you to read your Owner’s Manual. What does it say about you? Don’t let life pass you by. You were created for a purpose. Don’t miss what you were created for.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Owner’s Manual”

  1. Mom Says:

    Wonderful words.


Leave a Reply

