The Price That Some Pay

Today, as many days have been, is a day that I’m grateful to be an American. For no other reason than to realize that not only do men and women serve our country diligently on our behalf, so do their families.

I’m a proud American born citizen. One that I don’t take for granted. Because I’m free to go about my business and be me, for the most part, someone had to sacrifice something in order for me to have that.

I’m grateful to those who have gone before us. But I’m also sad for the families they leave behind while serving the rest of us.

It’s been 4.5 months since I’ve seen my husband and it’s not because he’s serving his country. But because he’s serving his Lord in heaven. These last few months I’ve been greatly blessed by many that have helped the girls and I in many facets of day to day activities. Again not anything that I take for granted. It’s been said that time heals all wounds. With each day, I miss him more and more. Longing for a moment where I could pick up the phone and make a call. Send a text to say that I can’t wait for you to get home. Or mail a card while he’s out of town on business.

Although I could never compare my situation to that of a military family, I do see some resemblance of missing the one you love. I pray today, that if you know of a single person as a result of their spouse serving your country, that you would reach out and do something that doesn’t have to be or couldn’t be returned, but paid forward. What a blessing you can be.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “The Price That Some Pay”

  1. Mom Says:

    So glad you decided to write. I’m sure your words will comfort others while bringing peace to your life. I love you so much. Mom


Leave a Reply

